Tiagra hydraulic shifter/brake set swap.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Ok you clever bargain finders, here's a challenge/question for you.

The commute bike I have been using since late 2018 runs Tiagra 2 x 10spd shifters and mechanical TRP Spyre disc brakes. These are good, but not hydraulic brilliant which is what I have grown used to over the last decade or so on my other bikes. There's a few niggly issues that are starting to add up and I'm thinking about swapping out the shifters and calipers to the full hydraulic set-up which will then make the bike effectively perfect and complete, spec wise.

What am I missing? I can get the Tiagra stuff for £350 HERE but this feels a bit on the expensive side to me for what you get, especially when I then see I can get a 105 hydraulic groupset for only £450 HERE which suddenly makes the tiagra shifter/caliper set seem extortionately priced!

I don't want to move to 11spd as the 10spd just seems so perfect for the job and I have some stock of spares/consumables for the 10spd, but at this price it would almost be stupid not to make the change given the bundle of components that come with the 105 group. Even just the chain and BB would be £30-40 to buy.

Other than the cranks being a bit on the short side, what is the catch?

Jenkins

Legendary Member
There is this bit in the 105 description that may be the reason

(Please Note: The brakes within this groupset are set up to European standards with the left-hand lever operating the front brake and the right-hand lever operating the rear brake. For UK customers and other parts of the World, you will need to disconnect the brake hoses and swap them over.)

Drago

Legendary Member
It's not a "full" 105 groupset, but is still pretty comprehensive and includes the entire geartrain so that isn't bad.