too heavy for my bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kaiser

Hi everybody, i am new to cycling, just bought my first £500 road bike. my question is this..
i've started cycling to primarily to loose weight, i'm 6ft and 16 stone 7lbs. will my budget bike hold my weight ok if i start out on the road? or should i stick to the trainer for a while to try to shift some of my weight first? and does an overweight person on a bike look stupid puffing & panting up the hills?? also what tyre pressure should i be using with regards to my weight? if this is several stupid questions bundled up into one post i apoligise in advance.. please dont roast me :smile: would appreciate your thoughts.. thanks.

TVC

Hi Kaiser and welcome.

My short answer would be that the bike should be fine, but I suggest you get some advice (and a shed load of inspiration) from our very own gb155:

http://www.cyclechat.net/user/4128-gb155/

Also at his website:

http://theamazing39stonecyclist.wordpress.com/pictures/

Enjoy the ride.

Jim

Steve H

Large Member
Hi Kaiser - I started cycling last year at just under 18 stone, and I'm 6'5. Started on a fairly cheap mountain bike on the roads and then later began to give it a bit of stick off roads. It's been fine. I lost a bit of weight throughout the year, I'm around 17 stone now. Got myself a road bike last October. I asked the guy in the shop if it was ok for a big bloke and he said it was fine for heavier than me.

So as long as you haven't bought something overly cheap and delicate I'm sure you will be fine. Agree with The Velvet Curtain though - if you want some inspiration take a look at Gaz's website in the post above.

pedallingpasty

What bike do you have?
When i started commuting again last year, i was 18 stone and still 6' 2''(:tongue: ). Using an old hack bike off ebay and it was fine. I have now ordered a sporty hybrid with 700cc wheels, so i have some concerns myself.
Don't think you will have any problems.