Training indoors

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I always swore I’d never need an indoor trainer, but I’ve been persuaded otherwise. No prizes for guessing the crucial current issues changing my mind. So I’ve no experience. I don’t need anything special, I’m not a racer, I just need to turn my legs over if I need to lockdown again. Cost is important, but so is feel, I’m not gonna use something that feels weird! Any advice. Reasons would be good with opinions. Thanks in expectation.

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Why does Corona Virus lockdown mean you have to train indoors? In the UK riding outdoors was/is allowed and was almost positively encouraged.

numbnuts

Legendary Member
I've got a turbo in the garage, I don't use it for training, more for motivation or put it bluntly to get my arse in to gear.
This year in no exception, I started doing one hour sessions, but as always even with good music boredom set in, so I set up a challenge how many miles can I cover in 30 minutes (yes I know they are not real miles) so far it went like this -
8.39 00:30:00
8.73 00:30:00
9.14 00:30:00
8.23 00:30:00
9.38 00:30:00
9.51 00:30:00
I would like to get 10 miles for the 30 minutes, now I'm nearly 69 and on beta blockers so I can't get my heart rate above 130 BPM.......but I'm getting there.
The improvements I have found while out on the road has amazed me, I have an e-trike and I have 5 settings normally I use setting 2, but since my training I'm only using setting 1 and of course saving battery power for longer rides, so if it helps an old fart like me it has to be a good thing :smile:

OP
OP
F

FishNeedsBike

Why does Corona Virus lockdown mean you have to train indoors? In the UK riding outdoors was/is allowed and was almost positively encouraged.