Trains in Europe

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Douggie954

I have just completed my summer tour and I am already planning next years. I am interested in cycling from the Hook of Holland to Hannover and then getting the train back to the Hook. I have looked at the train booking websites and this seems fine but I cannot find any information about taking my bike on the trains. Can anyone give me some information about this or at least point me in the right direction.

Thanks

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
There's a good bikes on trains information page at www.seat61.com

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
When I used to be a contractor it was almost impossible to predict when to buy a return ticket so I never did.
When I wanted to return to the Hook I'd just tip up at the nearest station and book. I can't remember ever having an issue getting my bike booked in from any country.

andym

Über Member
The DeutschBahn website has a search engine that allows you to select trains that have bike carriage facilities. I would make this your first stop if you'll excuse the pun.

Both the German and Dutch railways have pages explaining the rules in English. Just google something like 'bikes german railways'.

DeutscheBahn also have a UK call centre. This might be worth using - IIRC calls cost 5p/minute.

Basically you need to avoid the high speed trains. In Germany these are ICE (interCity Express?) trains and the Netherlands Intercity Direct. The names are a little confusing because in both countries there are normal 'Intercity' trains, and you can take bikes on these trains.

On some trains you may need to reserve a place (this is where the DB call centre may come in handy).

Don't forget you will probably need a bike ticket (unless you have paid for a bike reservation). In the Netherlands a day-ticket for a bike costs an extortionate 6.10€ while in Germany I paid a much more reasonable 1.70€.

steveindenmark