Travel costs in relation to your income?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RobBain

Mod note: Originally posted as part of this thread: https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/the-£5k-commuter-club.222513/

Hi all

Excuse me gate-crashing your list but I'm very interested in this thread.

I'm a part-time researcher at the University of Leeds (https://engineering.leeds.ac.uk/staff/527/Dr_Robert_Bain). I'm interested in people's travel costs in relation to their income. I have two main questions. 1. What % of your post-tax (ie. 'take-home') pay do you spend on commuting? And 2. At what % would you consider (or be forced to) look for alternative employment ie. at what % of your take-home pay does commuting just become too expensive.

Would be really interested to hear any views - especially if they relate to 'real world' examples. I don't need to know anybody's income - just costs expressed in percentage terms (even if approximate).

Many thanks to all.

Happy and safe cycling!

Kind regards,

Rob

Milkfloat

An Peanut
My actual commute costs compared to my income are minuscule - less than 0.5% as I live close by and usually cycle. However for me it is not financial cost that would stop a long commute it is my time. That is far more precious than anything else. Quite frankly, I would not commute for any job or any pay more than 30 minutes each way per day.

Tube or bike is next to negligible to my income. Only cost to me is time. My bikes and gubbins associates probably cost as much if not more than the tube but then I like expensive bikes.

KneesUp

Guru
How would you like us to look at costs - e.g. I sometimes come by car. Do I count the cost of petrol and an appropriate proportion of my parking permit, or do I also include a proportion of the servicing costs of the car? I suppose that seems fair. But what about insurance and tax? I'd have the car even if I didn't use it to commute, so do I proportion these costs too?

Drago