Tyres for C2C Challange

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigCol

Hi All

I am new to cycling (not sat on a bike for 15 years).

I recently agreed to undertake the C2C challenge (Whitehaven - Sunderland route) with some colleagues from work, primarily to raise money for charity but also to try and get fit (I am VERY unfit at the moment!!)

My question is: I have invested in a Giant XTC3 HT MTB which I am very pleased with. As I am cycling a 30 mile round trip to work as part of my training, I replaced the knobbly tyres with some Conti Top Contact tyres which make the commute to work far more comfortable.

Would it be OK to use these tyres on the C2C challenge? (nb we are NOT planning to go on the difficult routes eg, Old Coach Road).

I paid quite a lot for the Top Contacts (£80 for the pair) so I don't really want to buy others if I don't have to but I am concerned that these tyres may not give me enough grip on some of the tracks.

Any advice would be extremely welcomed (and also any tips on how much training I need to do for the C2C would also be welcomed!!).

Thanks........

calfus

When do you plan to do this challenge because if your unfit it might be worth getting fit before you that long journey...

I plan to do the St Bees Head to Whitby but nowhere near fit enough, so it will be next year. I have to re-train because of 3 years off cycling with knee trouble and they have to be strong.

OP
OP
B

BigCol

I'm planning the ride in mid-September.

The hardest part of training so far is getting used to the saddle.

I can manage the 30 mile round trip to work (which includes some reasonable hills) but if I do that more than twice a week, the saddle starts to really hurt!!

pedalpusher