Tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rivers

How far can I go?
What are people using for winter tyres? I've been running pirelli cinturato velos for a few years now for winter, and they are starting to come to the end of their life. I've been happy with them, but curious as to what others are running. I'm not interested in the likes of marathon/marathon plus so please dont recommend. I actually want an enjoyable/quick ride.
These are my must have specs:
32mm
Low-ish rolling resistance
Low-ish weight
Good puncture protection
Grip in the wet
Tubeless

Last edited:

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
Same tyres year round. Marathon puncture proof touring ones. All good and last ages.

What are people using for winter tyres? I've been running pirelli cinturato velos for a few years now for winter, and they are starting to come to the end of their life. I've been happy with them, but curious as to what others are running. I'm not interested in the likes of marathon/marathon plus so please dont recommend. I actually want an enjoyable/quick ride.
These are my must have specs:
32mm
Low-ish rolling resistance
Low-ish weight
Good puncture protection
Grip in the wet
Tubeless

GP5000 TL ... steep though £100+ pair? I use Gatorskin 32c's all year on gravel bike, 3 years in no punctures on some really rough terrain as well .... tubes though.

Tim Bennet.

Entirely Average Member
I've used Schwalbe Durano in 32mm for about the last six or seven winters (2 sets). I think I've only had one puncture and never a skiddy moment. I've just had a week thrashing around the flinty tracks of the New Forest and they haven't cut up either. I'm quite impressed.

But Cycling Weakly (https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/best-winter-tyres-for-road-cycling-462830) rated them 8th best, so I would fill your boots with any of the better seven as they must be brilliant.

Edit: They're not tubeless so you can put me on ignore as well.