Uk to Spain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi there, I have never done a cycle tour before, so perhaps being ambitious (but i like a challenge) but.. i am planning to cycle from Manchester to my parents house in Alicante Spain. Starting in July probably. I have done a bit of research (it's 1300 miles) but would love some advice please.

1) To camp or not to camp? what are hostels / Camps sites in France. Spain wont be a problem as I am spanish and I suppose I won't find it very difficult to figure out what to do. Is it OK to just camp in a field?

3) I'm fit, but out of practice on the bike, 27 year old - who has cycled 40 - 50 in a day before without problems but never tried anything over! How realistic is my challange and how much training between now and July would be required. (thinking of doing bout 70 miles a day)

4) I anyone fancy coming along you're more than welcome

Yes this is a bit of a whim, but i am serious and have actually wanted to do this ride for a long time now, but.... i ain't no pro, thats obvious and would really appreciate any advice tips or help.

Cheers,
Pedro

MarkF

Guru
Surely its more than 1300 miles on cycle friendly roads?
Spain has a ton of place to wild camp in, but no you just can't set up in a field legally.
No training required, (I know this), but you'll be very fit after a week.
Make it June & I might just do that.

Last edited:
We're doing home (Hampshire) to Alicante in July/August. From Caen it's about 1000 miles in a more or less straight line south so 1300 from Manchester sounds about right, we've ridden lots of the areas we'll be going through in the past so are happy that the roads are cycle friendly.
Unless you're on a very tight budget (or just really want to) I wouldn't bother wild camping in France as there are loads of cheap campsites, they are fewer and more expensive in Spain but away from the coast it would be easy to wild camp if you wanted to.

andrew_s

Legendary Member