UK to Spain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MattyB

Hi there, I have never done a cycle tour before, so perhaps being ambitious (but i like a challenge) but.. i am planning to cycle from liverpool to my parents house in Alicante Spain. Starting in June probably. I have done a bit of research (it's 1500 miles) but would love some advice please.

1) I have a Bianchi C2C via Nirone - from forums it appears might not be suitable for adding panniers, so thinking about a trailer (possibley extrawheel) OR buy a proper touring bike off ebay and sell it when get back!
any thoughts....?

2) To camp or not to camp? what are hostels / Camps sites in France / Spain. Is it OK to just camp in a field?

3) I'm fit, but out of practice on the bike, 27 year old - who has cycled 40 - 50 in a day before without problems but never tried anything over! How realistic is my challange and how much training between now and June would be required. (thinking of doing bout 90 miles a day)

4) Would anyone like to come with me!? / Doing anything similar at around the same time?

Would like to raise some money for charity, and would appreciate some company. Yes this is a bit of a whim, but i am serious and have actually wanted to do this ride for a long time now, but.... i ain't no pro, thats obvious and would really appreciate any advice tips or help.

Cheers,
Matt

upsidedown

Waiting for the great leap forward
Hi Matt

Welcome, can't help much with your plans but do give it a go. There are a fair few continental tourers on here who will help you out.

If you come through the West Midlands i'd be happy to do a day with you to keep you company.
Let us know how you get on, it sounds like a great journey !

paul

voleurs

Hi matt, sounds like an awesome challenge.