USB Device not recognised

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PK99

Legendary Member
Any computer literate folks able to help?

My PC (sony vaio desktop) has started flagging:

"USB device not recognised: One of the USB devices attached to this computer has malfunctioned."

It does this for all external memory devices: Sticks and an External hard drive.

But is fine for Garmin and printer etc.

I've googled and tried some of the work-arounds, a friend uninstalled the devices and restarted the pc and all seemed well until i next rebooted.

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
It sounds like a Registry problem. I've never had much luck with software that claims to fix these. Others have. I wait until I'm really tearing my hair out and then re-install the operating system, having backed my stuff up. Not elegant, but it has worked for me.

Others here will give better advice....I'm no expert .

Acyclo

Veteran
I'm with slowmotion. 'Nuke the site from orbit - it's the only way to be sure'. If you do, take the opportunity to create two partitions, one for the OS (c: ) and the other for your data (d: ). When you have a system working satisfactorily take a Ghost style backup of the OS partition. Do not rely on Windows rollback points.

OP
OP
P

PK99

Legendary Member
I'm with slowmotion. 'Nuke the site from orbit - it's the only way to be sure'. If you do, take the opportunity to create two partitions, one for the OS (c: ) and the other for your data (d: ). When you have a system working satisfactorily take a Ghost style backup of the OS partition. Do not rely on Windows rollback points.

sounds a good plan - I have a tech savvy nephew coming over to lunch in a few weeks - I'll make him earn his nosh!

I would just delete the USB drivers from device manager and force the pc to re-install all of them from scratch. how depends on what version of what you are on. assuming windows here, but I may be wrong.