Very stupid question

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Arch

Married to Night Train
This is probably a very stupid question, but I've nobly decided to post it here rather then PM someone who won't laugh at me, at least not to my face.

I'm going to need a new rear mech for my Galaxy rebuild. I've looked on Wiggle and CRC, just browsing, and all the mechs seem to say 9 or 10 or 11 speed, (or not specify). Mine's a 7 spd and I haven't seen any that specified 7. Is the 9 or 10 etc a maximum, or specific? How wrong could I get it?

Also, for some of them, HOW MUCH!!!!!

gavintc

Guru
I am no expert, but using my simple mechanical brain, it should work. A rear mech has no understanding of how much it should move each time it receives message from the STI/Ergo. Therefore it will move in accordance with the pull it receives and will move correctly for 7 (or more) cassettes. I 'think' the only thing you need to consider is long or short cage. but, I am sure an expert on these matters will be along soon enough.

firstly, I could be wrong.

I believe that 9 and 10 speed chains are narrower than 7 speed chains and so you may not be able to run a 7 speed chain through them.

my wife's bike runs a 7 speed cassette with an 8 speed mech lined up so that the 8th speed of the mech lines up with the 7th cog of the cassette. this stops it having a redundant position on the shifter.

hope this helps.

forgot to say, i've used a 9 speed mountain bike mech on a 5 speed on my road bike for the past two years

OP
OP
Arch

Arch

Married to Night Train
phil_hg_uk said:
And what about Medium Cage, Long Cage and Wide Link options what are these ?

Yes, any advice would be welcome.

I can just look at what I used to have and try to match that, of course.

It's probably good for me to have to work all this out, the trouble is when you've had people who enjoyed doing it all for you, and then you don't any more, you realise how little you know.