Viking Retroadie fixup

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Twilkes

Guru
Getting this back on the road for someone, a few questions:

Can mudguards be mounted on it? There only seem to be mounting holes on the outside of the rear triangle, two on each side, and one on each inside of the forks. There are no central mounting holes at the top but it does have caliper brakes which I've never worked with before, is there a way of bolting mudguards through the brake fittings?

Never worked with a friction shifter front derailleur either, and it's not holding in place on the big ring, I can even push the derailleur towards the frame which moves the shifter. It looks almost brand new so what should I tighten to get it to stay in one place?

http://www.avocetsports.co.uk/vikin...retro-roadie-gents-700c-wheel-road-bike-vp019

DRM

Guru
Yes, you would take the callipers off and put them through the bracket on the mudguard, then the stays of the mudguard go down to one of the two eyes above the drop out, there should also be a hole near the bottom bracket for the bottom of the rear mudguard to attach to.

View: https://youtu.be/KlOXOSqecEc

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
Yes there are mudguard mounting points on the dropouts and a standard Brake bridge bracket which is supplied with most full length mudguards will be fine.

Mudguards? Yes! The front 'guard will use the brake mounting bolt. For the rear the mudguards should come with a fixing to attach them to the chainstay bridge or to clamp between the chainstays if there isn't one as well as the brake mounting bolt. The guards pass through the calipers.

If your friction shifters are slipping, it looks like you need to nip up the allen-headed bolt in the centre of the shifter. On vintage shifters, there's usually a d-ring headed bolt that you can tighten on the fly, but from the pics it looks like these are set-and-forget and just need a bit of maintenance.

Sweet bike 🤞