Visiting Thorn - Thinking of a New Raven - Any tips

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Skipper9999

Just getting round to buying a new bike and have a fancy for a "New Thorn Raven".
I am visiting them on Monday 4th Feb 2013. Any Tips??
I plan to do the LEJOG (mainly B&B's or YHA) and wondered if any members could share some tips.

• Is it the right bike?
  • What goodies should I add (dynamo ??)
  • Luggage ( or use existing TOPEAK that I have )
  • Tyres?
  • Extra strong Rims (Andra 30 CSS 32h costing £85 extra ) worth it?

Any other suggestions/ bikes would be helpful in me decision making, I am quite new to this field having only completed Hadrian’s Cycle Way.

Brains

Legendary Member
No idea, but I bought my Thorn Nomad (old stylee) over a decade and 22,000 miles ago, it's been to a dozen countries since and I still think it's the best touring bike available (other than possibly the old style Thorn Xpd)

Go with an open mind.... and enjoy yourself

They offer a good range of routes to try, so make use of them to assess the machine and its suitability for your riding style, they will also advise on what you can choose.

My only advice is not to get carried away, there is little of the additional stuff that cannot be retro fitted.

Their advice is very good - My wife wanted a Rohlof geared bike, so we went down to try one.

They gave her one that was far too small........ but insisted that it was the right choice. After 5 minutes we had to agree, a smaller frame than she was used to, but it was the most comfortable bike she had ridden

The second problem was giving me one to ride as well. It was a boring ride, solid, dependable, predictable and just what I wanted in a touring bike......... so we left with a Raven Tour and a Nomad... pictured her on the Great Glen

P6216321.jpg

I would not now buy a non-Rohloff bike, and we have two Rohloff recumbent trikes, the two Thorns and a Birdy Grey