Wanted...New MTB on budget

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DrDre2010

So I am after a MTB for around £300 (my original budget was £200 a few weeks ago, but I've upped it for a bit better bike hopefully!).
Obviously I'd prefer discs, hydros if possible, I hate gripshift style gears and by the seems of what I've been reading I want a rigidback with lockout front forks.

But I am very open to suggestions to change my mind as I'm new to the scene.

The best bet so far I think I've seen is:

RockRider 5.3

but is it really worth an extra £120 over:

RockRider 5.2

So please recommend away!

e-rider

crappy member
I'm not sure about £300 but Focus have some amazing deals on MTBs (wiggle.co.uk)

Full XT with Fox forks for a little over 1K

OP
OP
D

DrDre2010

I'm not sure about £300 but Focus have some amazing deals on MTBs (wiggle.co.uk)

Full XT with Fox forks for a little over 1K

Cheers they only have two that hit my budget which are the GT Aggressor 3.0 & Giant Revel 3, but still don't know how they compare as I don't know what frames/gears/brakes etc are better than the next.

PpPete

Legendary Member
http://www.gooutdoor...in-bike-p143987

Similar to the Rockrider 5.3 except 3x8 Shimano instead of 3x9 SRAM and £50 cheaper.

Just got one for my son (13th Birthday presie) in a black & blue colour scheme like this. Personally I think a white saddle on an MTB is folly, but he loves it.

or - depending on size availability .... http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=62400
a bit more like the RockRider 5.2 (V brakes)
Been an expensive couple of months - the youngest (10) got one of those for his birthday

OP
OP
D

DrDre2010

[QUOTE 1360938"]
Both good bikes. I'd go for the 5.3. I bought a 5.2 last year and fitted disc brakes, so it's virtually the same now.
[/quote]

Yeah I'm thinking although its an extra £120 it is probably worth it as otherwise I'll end up upgrading in 6 months.

OP
OP
D

DrDre2010