Water/Fluids

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MattLiverpool

Just how much difference do they make in road riding?

Anyone who has read any of my previous posts will be aware that I'm an absolute beginner. I've spent a while looking at bikes and parts and have noticed that everything is marked with a weight and that seems sensible to me. Clearly the lighter your machine is the less work you need to put in.

However....

Nearly all the frames I've seen have space for two drinking bottles. If you were to use 1ltr bottles that's an extra two kilos!!! How much difference in speed is that much weight going to have compared to just ending a ride a bit dehydrated?

Cheers

Matt

Maz

Guru
Depending on how far you're riding, you may not need a water bottle. My commute is 6.5 miles each way and I don't bother rehydrating mid-journey, but everyone's different.
The second set of nut things on the frame might be for carrying a pump.

domtyler

Über Member
Weigh yourself before a ride and then weigh yourself after, having not drunk any fluids, divide by the number of hours you have been riding and then you will know how many litres per hour you require.

E.g. if you ride for two hours and lose 1 kilo then you need half a litre per hour of riding.

Tynan

Veteran
I've got a bottle left on from the L2B and I've got used to a sip/glug at the lights on my hour commute, you don;t have to fill it up, I usually just put in what I know I'll use

yenrod

MAtt - ive found that in hot weather as it has been recently I wsa taking 2 bottles out got thru the 1st one over the 1st 3rd of the ride.

So its better to over do it, slightly, as you can always take a p@ss stop...

One of the base rules is that its better to have water than NOT...

Excising without water is a big big no=no ! - Easily forgot to not drink at times, even if a chill is blowing, in the air !

Blue

Legendary Member
MattLiverpool said: