what stuff do i need.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

thunderlips76

climbs for cake
hi guys ok, I pick my bike up tomorrow. I have some gear already but as a complete noob what else do I need. I currently have.

1/ helmet
2/ glasses
3/ cycling jersey x2
4/ cycling shorts x2
5/ gloves
6/ small repair kit ( multi tool, patches and tiny pump)

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
You don't need a helmet if you don't want one.

Get yourself a track pump for home, something like a joe blow

Lube for the chain

Baby wipes, to wipe the bike down

Lights if you are going to ride in the dark

Couple of tyre levers
Couple of spare inner tubes (easier to repair the tube back home)
Pack a pair of tweezers for glass/thorns/... in tyre (what caused the puncture)
Small seat bag for the repair stuff
Water bottle with holder
Fingerless gloves (helps if you come off) and some more normal, warmer gloves

(If you head out in the rain) waterproof jacket, back mud guard,
(if you head out in the cold) long tights,

w00hoo_kent

One of the 64K
If the small repair kit list is all that's in it I'd add at least 2 tyre levers and pick up a spare inner tube when you collect the bike. It's much easier to just change a tube by the side of the road than faff about patching one (although I find I tend to do both, but save the patched tube for the next puncture).

Cycleops

Legendary Member
I think you just need to add a Track Pump and the lights to your list. When replacing tyres try not to use the levers, you might end up inadvertently pinching the inner tube. If you use both thumbs and work towards the middle you should be able to do it. Good luck.

PaulSecteur

No longer a Specialized fanboy
What you dont need... pants. When wearing cycling shorts.

Tim Hall