What trainging do the pros do?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RabbitFood

Hi,

Im new to cycling, well proper cycling with a good bike I have done a lot of cycling when I was in my teens on a MTB but now I have a nice new shiny Spezalized Allez and want to start TT and racing.

Anyway I play a lot of football so not in bad shape but what sort of training would Pro cyclist, road cycling not track or would this be the same?

I would think different because Hoy needs bursts of energy where as Cav would need endurance and that's what I am after as this would help with my football.

I go gym but is there anywhere I can read up on the training for cycling or has anyone got an insight on here for me?

Thanks

Will1985

Über Member
Get on your bike and ride.....lots!

There are books available such as The Cyclist's Training Bible by Joe Friel which can give you an idea on how to structure training etc. As you get more into it, you'll be wanting all the gadgets so you know your cadence and train by heart rate, then ultimately by power. However, none of these will do anything for you without spending hours in the saddle.

You're pretty much right about the Hoy-Cav analogy. Hoy's legs are going to consist of pretty much all fast-twitch muscle fibres useful for his short events, while Cav will do a lot more long distance training...the roadies will have a lot of slow-twitch muscle fibres but as a sprinter he will also have to train to be able to pack a punch up the finishing straight at 70km/h having ridden for 200km.
Only thing is, there are some long events on the track too which is why Cav is going to the Worlds.

jayce