What type of bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

In4Pain

Hi there, I need some advice on bike selection. I am a relative new comer to cycling and apart from a 6 mile round trip commute to work I have never done any long distance cycling. My current bike is a Trek 7200 with front shocks. My quandry is this - i have signed up to do a 112 mile cycle. I started training over the last few weeks and did a 50 mile trip on Sunday (any by the way my arse is no longer on speaking terms with me!xx() I went into my local bike shop today to get the bike serviced and when i told the guys there what i was doing they basicially collapsed laughing and said I was crazy to be attempting it on my bike. They were saying that shocks are a disaster, my bike has a riding position like someting desigened by Orange County Choppers (apparently this is not good) and basicially for what I am attempting I might as well be on a Penny Farthing. They then proceeded to show me more expensive bikes Trek 9.5 and another brand that is like the Trek but with drop down handle bars and a granny gear for mountains??
Basicially my question is this- do i need to upgrade? I only bought my current bike last year and I only want to have one bike that I can cycle to work and do this long cycle in July...
Thanks in advance for advice.

RedBike

Do i need to upgrade?- 112 miles on the trek is possible but I'm afraid a good drop bar 'road bike' would make it conciderably easier.

Suspension forks not only add extra weight they also rob your power, so i'm afraid they are right, you wouldl be better off without them. - Although I think their comments are a little harsh.

I would look at hiring/borrowing a bike for a week or two.

btw your bum will get used to it- honestly. In the mean time padded shorts are a god send!

Bob_betty

wlc1

There is no way you need to spend 2.5k for one ride of 122 miles.

You can spend a quarter fo that for a decent bike that will do the job.