Wheel Bearings.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bicycle

Grrrrr.....

My front wheel bearings were shot. I stripped them.

The cups were worn, so I bought the correct cups and new balls. I also got a cone spanner to add to my toolkit.

I had fun re-assembling, but managed to count them all out and count the new ones in...

They were a bastard to put back - I'm not a mechanic and I lack finesse and mechanicall sympathy....

First, I couldn't get that 'sweet spot' where the wheel was spinning but free of play.

Eventually I had it.... tightened the locknuts both sides, checked... checked again...

Went for a 2-minute spin and everything was OK. As that was my third attempt, I felt slightly victorious...

After a 10-mile ride things seemed a little loose at the front and the wheel was wobbling like a jelly... Grrrr...

What is the magic?

How do I get the little f*ckers to the right adjustment and how do I get them to stay like that?

I'm sure the adjustment was right and I'm sure I had the locknuts tightened right down both sides.

If I thought wheel bearings were capable of feeling pain, I'd line them all up and shoot them.

I see the way they look at me and smirk...

I seem to have tried everything except the right way to do it... Any advice?

guitarpete247

Just about surviving
Just trial and error. If they feel too slack tighten them up a little. If the feel too tight (feel like they have grit in them) slacken them off a smidgen. If you have q/r skewers you will need to have bearings just a tad loose as closing skewers will nip the bearing up a little.

Grrrrr.....

My front wheel bearings were shot. I stripped them.

The cups were worn, so I bought the correct cups and new balls.

Did you buy new cups or cones?

Alembicbassman

Confused.com
I use a 17mm open ended wrench on the locknut and a cone spanner on the cone to hold it steady while I tighten the locknut.

ASC1951

Guru