Wheel buckled again.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

markharry66

Über Member
I purchased a canondale before christmas and suffered from buckled wheel. My daily commute is 10 miles a few road humps.

I had not ridden it since christmas after having the wheel trued. Got on it this morning after only having used it monday and tuesday noticed its buckled again after 20 miles is this due to dodgy wheel (shimano) or bad job at lbs when wheel was trued.

davidphilips

Veteran
What you could do is buy a cheap spoke key from ebay about £1 delivered and tighten spokes if/when required?

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=spoke+key&_sacat=0

Attachments

• Hydrangeas.jpg
    Hydrangeas.jpg
    41.1 KB · Views: 40

overmind

My other bike is a Pinarello
One of the most useful skills I acquired in the last 5 years is the ability to true wheels (to a reasonable standard). I have been commuting by bicycle for the past 20 years now. I used to fairly regularly break a spoke. I would replace the spoke that evening and true the wheel as best I could but it was never quite good enough. Over time the wheel would get increasingly worse until I would buy a new one.

I watched a number of videos on Youtube and initially I used the method of just trueing using the brake blocks as a guide which was ok. Then my daughter bought me a wheel truing stand for Christmas about 3-4 years ago. I've been using that ever since.

The trick for me is not to be too anally retentive about it and if the truing is within, say, 1mm then stop because it is good enough. I also find that having that skill make me more at one with the bike. I will notice as I am riding alone subtle lateral movements in the wheels and make minor tweaks to the spokes to correct them. I've noticed that I have a lot fewer issues. I do not seem to break as many spokes as I used to either.