Which Edinburgh Cycling Club?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DaveK

Hi Guys,

I'm moving to Edinburgh in the next month and I'll be looking to join a cycling club. Can anyone give me their recommendations on which one would be best for casual rides and perhaps the odd time trial?

Cheers,
Dave

DelB

Haven't joined them (yet!), as I'm still getting into this biking lark, but the Edinburgh Road Club will be my likely choice and will probably fit the bill for what you're after too.
http://www.edinburghrc.co.uk/

OP
OP
DaveK

DaveK

Yeah they seem to be the biggest, I like how they have organised rides every Saturday and Sunday with weekly TT. Will make a huge difference from my usual lonely rides in the country.

I was in the ERC a while back. On Saturday there's (or at least) various training runs and some of these would break up further but they follow the same route except for the slowest one. They go more varied places on Sunday at a fast pace but the start on the southside of Edinburgh never suited me and my mates so I never did it often either. Never done any of their TT though by the time I'd got interested in them I'd moved. Although its a friendly club it took a while for me to properly break the ice as its that big, I've never experienced that with other clubs outside Edinburgh. Can't commentate on other Edinburgh Clubs though.

edindave

Über Member
If you want casual rides try Ronde, based in Stockbridge. I don't know if they do TT's but they are a very friendly bunch. I've only been out with them once and really enjoyed it. They are based around a very cool cafe/shop.

I'm a member of Edinburgh RC. It is a big club, lots of different groups for varying abilities and is great if you like more formal chain-gang type training rides. I think their weekly TTs are closed/members only but might be wrong about that.

DelB