Which gear/brake cables?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lulubel

Über Member
I need to buy a full set of gear and brake cables for my new bike build, and I don't have a clue what I need.

I've looked at kits like this. Is it any good?

Galvanised or stainless steel? Does a kit include everything I need for both brakes/gears? Is it OK to buy "budget" cables, or should I be looking at a big name like Shimano?

I just bought and installed this http://road.cc/content/review/28824-jagwire-racer-brake-and-cable-kit

(can be had for slightly less than £25) and I am impressed. Not cheapest, but far from the most pricey and included pretty much everything I needed except new bar tape and cable cutters (the cable is strong, pliers not advised!).

The brakes feel much better than brand new and my gears now haven't missed a click since.

jim55

Guru
yeah ul need seperate brake and gear cables as theyr a diff size (diameter of cable ),im far from an expert but all id say is dont buy the cheapest ebay special ,i done this recently and my braking action was terrible ,replaced both with better ones and its much better ,mines arent top of the range ,i have bbb outers and basic inners from decathlon (i had to get them straight away ),you dont need fancy pants ones ,just mid range (bbb or jagwire ,something like that ),i posted about this exact thing a while ago and somebody on here recc a set made by gore (the windproof company)and they were 28£ for brake cables!!and the bike was 140 all in !
needless to say i bought bbb ones but no need for you to go daft :hello:
btw with bigger names your paying for the brand i think,your choice

OP
OP
lulubel

lulubel

Über Member
yeah ul need seperate brake and gear cables as theyr a diff size (diameter of cable)