Wild Camping near Edinburgh or Tarbet.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi All,

Complete newbie here. I live in the Glasgow area and have recently been doing some day trips out to places like Bowling, Clyde Bank, Loch Ness and Falkirk on the bike using the forth and clyde canal way (great beginner route btw) and Im looking to go further afield. Just got my one man tent and camping gear and want to try an overnight stay so was planning on using the canal path to cycle straight to Edinburgh via Falkirk or to head up Tarbet way for a shorter haul overnight stay.

I was wondering if anyone has any good camping spots (wild or otherwise) near Edinburgh or Tarbet? Im trying to do this on the cheap but welcome any cheap B & B suggestions.

suffolkcindy

Rode past a campsite south side of edinburgh this week called mortonhall. Was given a little tourist map of all campsites in tourist information and that was the only one on it near edinburgh. Said it took tents.

I stopped in Mortonhall on my way south through Edinburgh on this years tour.
It was £11.50 per night for one person on a bike with a one man tent.

OP
OP
depthcharge001
Hi All,

Complete newbie here. I live in the Glasgow area and have recently been doing some day trips out to places like Bowling, Clyde Bank, Loch Ness and Falkirk on the bike using the forth and clyde canal way (great beginner route btw) and Im looking to go further afield. Just got my one man tent and camping gear and want to try an overnight stay so was planning on using the canal path to cycle straight to Edinburgh via Falkirk or to head up Tarbet way for a shorter haul overnight stay.

I was wondering if anyone has any good camping spots (wild or otherwise) near Edinburgh or Tarbet? Im trying to do this on the cheap but welcome any cheap B & B suggestions.

*Loch Lomond not Loch Ness. Making that in a day from Glasgow is still way beyond me.

toroddf