Will a Sugino triple crankset fit my Campagnolo-equipped bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

onlyhuman

I've been thinking about providing my new oldish racer with some more forgiving gearing for hilly rides, and I've just realised I have a Sugino triple crankset I recently and rather luckily acquired. It is currently fitted to my (Shimano-equipped) Trek hybrid.

It's a Sugino Mighty 900, with a 42 tooth large wheel. The racer currently has a Campy 53 42 crankset fitted. Will the triple fit and work properly? Of course I can just try it and see, but I thought I'd ask first, in case it obviously won't work, or will cause some damage. I am not an expert.

jimboalee

onlyhuman said:
I've been thinking about providing my new oldish racer with some more forgiving gearing for hilly rides, and I've just realised I have a Sugino triple crankset I recently and rather luckily acquired. It is currently fitted to my (Shimano-equipped) Trek hybrid.

It's a Sugino Mighty 900, with a 42 tooth large wheel. The racer currently has a Campy 53 42 crankset fitted. Will the triple fit and work properly? Of course I can just try it and see, but I thought I'd ask first, in case it obviously won't work, or will cause some damage. I am not an expert.

Putting a Sugino crankset on a Campag equiped bike will damage your reputation.

Or create you one.

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
I doubt the front mech will work well, but aren't campag non-indexed at the front? An MTB front mech should fit and work nicely if so. If you're going to stick a Japanese chainset on there, may as well go for maximum outrage from the Campag tifosi ;)

OP
OP
onlyhuman

onlyhuman

jimboalee said:
Putting a Sugino crankset on a Campag equiped bike will damage your reputation.

Or create you one.

Hi Jimbo,