Carlton Resto

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm new to threading so please forgive any etiquette inadequacies, but I could do with some advice from the connoisseurs regarding a the identification of a frame that has carlton transfers but no complex lugs but the letters TT stamped in the middle of the bottom bracket(across the frame) and the capitals G2905 running around the edge on the chain side of the bb. Both seen from below.

Turnpike

Regular
Ray, a couple of pictures of the frame would help, but check the back of the seat tube just underneath the saddle for a serial number. That's where you'll find the serial number for Raleigh built Carltons. The location of serial numbers did vary even for Worksop built Carltons, and the G prefix on a Carlton serial would indicate a 1959 frame, though sight of the frame would confirm its likely age.

BILD0198.JPG:\C:\Users\ray\Desktop

BILD0198\ C:\Users\ray\Desktop\BILD0198.JPG

I'm having trouble getting head round how to post images but might sus it out eventually. I got the added bonus of a huret jubilee set and the saddle has cleaned up great. I must admit I was appalled when it arrived but it turned out most of the rust came off the chrome forks and saddle frame ok. The problems so far are that the crank arm has a small crack where it is bolted on and it needs an older sized crank extractor tool to get it off. I think I will try to get it off with leg pullers as a cheaper option than buying the tool.

Turnpike

Regular