1 or 2 of em out there

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

luplowe

Ive been riding for about 5 months now doing 2 hundred odd mi,les a week mostly on the racer but a fair bit on the mtb. and it strikes me there could be a little bit of snobbery from us racer bods . when I'm on the racer i have to admit Ive got all the gear and do look the part at least. and when someone comes the other way on a racer they all ways give you the nod as i do. but not so with the mtb quite offen they just keep looking foreword and give you a total blank. maybe cos the mtb is a bit more jump on it and of you go perhaps the manky old shorts and the paint stained tshirt doesn't appeal to them as much . but anyway I'm not generalizing we all no most cyclists are very decent people. but i think there are one or two snobs out there, thats england i guess,,

Noodley

luplowe said:
....thats england i guess,,

Yep, you Englandshire lot are very strange.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Every cyclist gets the nod from me.

But when I'm driving my Land Rover only drivers of proper "square" Land Rovers get a finger raised in greeting and that's only if they're old or obviously cherished and modified, so I guess that makes me a snob.

Depends how I feel. Sometimes I nod, sometimes not. Certainly never at other commuters, in my experience they're just trying to get to work and happen to be on a bike. Which is fine, but nodding to them would be like saying hello to every pedestrian you met on the way up town, or shaking hands with everyone on the bus, or whatever.:thumbsup:

Angelfishsolo

A Velocipedian
Ditto. I find the only people who do not respond are those who are dressed for the streets and are just on they way back from the off license or some such :-)

John the Monkey said:
I wave or nod to all cyclists, unless I'm negotiating particularly tricky bits of road/traffic.

gbb

Legendary Member