1st recumbent, Challenge Focus

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Trickieshep

Regular
I am totally new to recumbents (not ridden one yet) and have been offerd a "Challenge Focus"

The bike has under seat steering, is approx 10 years old in good condition.
I have been offerd it at £500, is this a Realistic price.

For my first recumbent I do not want to be shelling out loads if I can not get used to it but don't mind spending a bit as long as I can near enough recoup my outlay.

OP
OP
T

Trickieshep

Regular
Can't believe everybody knows nothing about these bikes!!!!!

Can't believe everybody knows nothing about these bikes!!!!!
There are 3 UK dealers listed on the Challenge dealer finder HERE. You might want to clarify the model name though, as basically nothing seems to come back on Google for a Challenge Focus?

The lack of responses would suggest to me that they aren't a big player in the UK market, so your questions might be better directed at the dealers who know these machines.

That said there are many recumbent riders on CC, in fact there's a 27 page thread dedicated to them HERE ;)

Perhaps you could PM one or two of them as they may have simply missed your OP. Just bear in mind that thread started in 2007, so for example, post #2 by @andharwheel who lists a Challenge Hurricane in his'her stable may no longer be relevant, but PM them, you never know they might have the answers you're after.

Although TBH that particular member hasn't posted on CC since November 2011 :sad:

@byegad @Cunobelin & @neil earley are all laid back guys, (see what I did there? :smile:), and I'm sure they'll respond to these tags in due course.

byegad

Legendary Member
£500 for a ten year old Focus could be right, assuming the whole thing is in good condition, newish cassette, chainrings, rims and not too shabby.