1st ride out. Is it normal for my sit bones to still hurt the next day?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

proletaratOne

My first ride was on road as I went with a friend who only has a road bike. Probably a good job really. I think I'll leave off road until I get a tougher behind.

Well at least I know where the issues lie now. Inexperience, rubbish choice of clothing and a cheap saddle. Nice to know it's gets easier anyway.
Think I may have a trip to a bike shop tomorrow and look for some shorts. Might as well starting making it easier on me as soon as possible.

and thanks, enjoyed the first ride but it was tough for me. Time to give up smoking.
Hi I’m fairly new to cycling so take my opinion with a grain of salt

a few things I learned.

yeah first time out butt hurts a bit. But you get a little used to it.

a thing I did was also periodically get out the saddle and pedal. Gives your butt a rest and it’s a good skill to hone(I think)

I also would say there are one item that really made cycling more fun.I bought bib shorts ..., for long rides they stay in place better

It's normal, I've felt the soreness after a long break from cycling and then a return... however I've never found it as hard or complained as much as people I was with, whom seemed to give up solely for this reason. Always wondered why they'd give up so easily.

Until this week when I bought and rode a cheap bargain basement bike, the saddle was rock hard, uncomfortable and did not encourage the enjoyment of cycling or making it anything but hateful to face the challenges of keeping fit.

It dawned upon me that a cheap saddle... or the wrong saddle for your a** type is going to continually bring hell to you if not sorted. That's probably why my friends gave up. And it might be worth you fixing it until you're comfortable if it doesn't fade away so that you don't give up too?

iluvmybike

Über Member