6 months on .......

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

charliesurf

Well I have been commuting for 6 months now, only 3 days per week but I think its enough to make me feel good about what I am doing. I started with my mountain bike then managed to get a deal on a Specialized Tricross Comp ( double chainset ....wheeze:blush:)

My fitness has increased and now I actually enjoy the commute rather than it being the chore that it started out to be. I travel from Dalgety Bay ( Fife) to Livingston. Its much quicker going home as more of the route seems to be downhill and its generally wind assisted. I have managed to get home in under 50 minutes. My quickets time coming into work is 1:00:55 :wacko:........... I am determined to break the 1 hour mark and I think it will happen soon. Its only about 17 miles each way but it feels longer.

Initially I used as much of the pavements and cycle paths that I could. It felt safer but slowed me down. So I use the main roads all of the way. I will revert back to the paths when the darker nights/mornings roll in.

With regard to the bike, I was concerned that a double chainset would leave me wishing I had another bike, but I am amazed that you quickly adapt to the gears that you have. I have not yet had to get off and push. There are not too many hills but if anyone knows the area ( Kirkliston ) is a tough climb for me. I read lots of reviews about the toe overlap and again thought what Have I let myself in for, but as some people said its a bit of a non issue. The fork judder is there but again its not really an issue. The brakes are ok as are the stock Borough tyres, no issues so far.

I am curios about what the winter holds and how many sessions I will actually manage, but the 1 hr mark must be broken :smile:

C

Well done charlie. Be carefull if you want to revert back to paths in the winter they'll be last things cleared/ gritted, I'd stay on road my self.

mds101