A 3D Printing hobby thread!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JhnBssll

Veteran
I've been tinkering with printers a lot in the last month or so (instead of building my extension while the weather is grim!) and thought I'd start a thread in the hobbies section to see if any other cyclechatters share this slightly addictive passtime :laugh:

I've been using 3D printers for prototyping for about 14 years but for a long time the cost of these machines was prohibitive; the main printer I use at work is a Stratasys Fortus 900mc and at the time it set us back several hundred thousand pounds :wacko: These days of course you can purchase DIY printers that do a similar thing (but much less reliably :laugh:) for a fraction of that cost so around 3 years ago I bought my first machine, an Anet A2...

This is actually a picture of it after the post-fire repairs but I won't go in to that minor mishap :tongue::laugh: This was a fun little printer but after a while I found I needed something with a bigger build envelope... As a result, I invested in a second printer, an Anet E10...

This was a little more expensive than the A2 and a little more robust. A larger bed and taller Z axis meant it could build bigger in all directions than the A2 and the pair of them did me fairly well until quite recently. Both of these printers are ideal for printing with PLA, a fairly strong plastic but not overly stable in warm conditions or in direct sunlight. It will creep and break down which doesnt make it particularly useful for the bicycle parts I found myself wanting to design and print more regularly.