A Grand Don't Come for Free

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nikolai420

Hello,

I'm new to CC and this is my frist post. Signing up to the Ride2Work scheme in November and need some advice on what to get. I commute to work 3/4 times a week. Distance is 24km round trip. Shepherds Bush to St.Pauls along central line.

Been looking at the sport hybrid bikes but people are telling me to go full road bike. This is probably a frequent post but advice would be great all the same. Have maximum of a grand bearing in mind 2010 bikes are coming out soon.

If you had a grand what would you get?

gaz

Cycle Camera TV
im in the same spot, round trip per day is just 27miles and i commute 5 days a week on a hybrid. going on the C2W scheme in october with a grand and will be getting a road bike. no doubt about it. better riding position and lighter bike will give me a better ride in. and hopefully i can up my millage on the weekends.

jonny jeez

Legendary Member
Hello Nicolia...and welcome.

I would suspect you are about to get a selection of opinions from herre (which is what I guess you wanted).

For my tuppance worth, I would say that given the distance you plan to cover I would go for a Hybrid bike, I prefer the positioning (being upright with a good clear view of the road) and also prefer the whole geometry for riding in traffic (any required swerveing etc)

Its possible to spend a lot less on a bike to perform that duty/distance so shop around.

good luck

Jonny

phil_hg_uk

I am not a member, I am a free man !!!!!!
I am after one of these next:

CANNONDALE Synapse 105 Triple £1149.00

5606-16819-main-9ras1t_bbq-70.jpg

or CANNONDALE Synapse Tiagra Triple £949.00

5607-16831-main-9ras1t_bbq-70.jpg

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
All depends upon the type of riding you will want it for. If you fancy a few tracks and mild off road, then a hybrid.