A little help with a Brooks Swallow please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mikeymustard

Veteran
I've bought a couple of Brooks saddles off a friend who's been trying to find his perfect perch(?), one's a nice honey B17 for the partner's bike, and the other one is a B15 Swallow for my road bike.

These are as new with barely a mark on them, yet the swallow doesn't seem as tight as I would expect.
I have no experience of these skinny style Brooks so I need to know if the friend has been messing with the tension in an attempt to make it more comfy, or whether it's a thing with it having such a narrow nose.

I'm pretty sure he wouldn't admit to fiddling with it even if he had!

I don't want to wreck it - either by over-tensioning it or by using it too loose (bearing in mind I am a big chap). I've read somewhere that swallows have been known to de-tension but don't know how common, or even how accurate this is.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
It sounds knackered, I'll take it of your hands for £10:smile:

raleighnut

Legendary Member
The Swallow is completely different to any others in the Brooks range, it has a metal plate joining the 2 sides together to resist the sides 'flaring' so does not need to rely on tension to help retain the shape, they are a 'hammock' design.
I've had mine for 11yrs and the only time I touch the tension nut is if the saddle has been soaked in which case I unscrew it a bit whilst the saddle is drying then re-tension once dry but then mine is one of the first 'batch' of Limited Edition models, the 'Honey' one so it is a bit special (the black model that came after my series was listed on Brooks online shop at £590) I'm not sure what the retail price of mine was as I bought it discounted when Websters gave up running 'The Bike Park' in Leicester for £200 (I also bagged a pair of big Carradice panniers and they were half price)