Adivce needed please!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Danny251

Hi there!
I am completely new to cycling and I am wondering if I could ask a few questions please?

Are Raleigh bikes still as good as people say they are and is this one that I have linked below any good?

http://www.argos.co....es|26350687.htm

I am looking to spend £100-180 on a bike that will last. I will be using it three-four times a week for short journeys and the odd long journey on mostly pavement. I would probably like a front suspension bike as well.

Can anyone recommend me a bike please?

Thanks!

Rebel Ian

I'm not sure you can expect too much from a bike that costs £150 but it'll do for short rides without breaking an records. As for cycling on the pavement you know that's illegal?

Hi Danny, welcome to CC. You are running with a very restrictive budget to be brutally honest. You say you want a bike that will last, well bikes are a perfect example of getting what you pay for.

Raleigh are making a comeback and are making some decent bikes, but IMHO all bikes at this price point are only going to dissapoint in the long term.

My advice if your budget is set in stone would be to look for a decent second hand bike, ebay is always a good starting point but make sure you follow the guidelines outlined on various posts here, (enter ebay in the search box and select Forums).

You will always get more bike for your money buying used, and chances are a decent used bike will far outlast a new £150 bike.

All this is just my opinion, but many of my mates have done the same and ended up with a far better bike than they could have ever bought new.

If you do see a bike on ebay, post a link up here asking for advice on it and people will always take a look and give you their open and honest opinion.