Advice for beginner buying a Hybrid - Giant vs Specialized

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi,
I'm new to cycling and you'll notice to this forum. I am looking at purchase a hybrid bike and was looking at models: Giant Roam 0 2015 and Specialized Crosstrail Elite Comp 2015.

My last bike was Raleigh mountain bike which was my Christmas present when I was 11 years old - I'm now 36!
The new bike will be for 80% road usage and 20% for off-road. Nothing that serious off-road just dirt paths etc. I'm 5ft 9" and heavy build.

The Giant and Specialized are similar prices £725 and £700 respectively. I was wondering what the main differences are between the two? I've not able to find a dealer that has both models. In fact the Giant store in Liverpool said that they wouldn't be getting it until the New Year when Giant will be getting stock themselves but Tredz says they will be getting stock in 2 weeks. My nearest Evan Cycles can order the Specialized in for me to test ride.

I also have a few general questions:

I've found that the price of a lot of models I looked at were exactly the same across all online retailers. Why is this? Do manufacturers not allow discounting? It seemed to me to make more sense to buy from a local dealer for aftersales service as there seemed no advantage to buying online.
Why do Evans not stock Giant?

Many thanks for your help!

vickster

Legendary Member
The big manufacturers do indeed control prices, Specialized certainly do

I'd be suspicious of Tredz saying they can get a bike if the giant store themselves can't...they are hot and miss in having stock to say the least

http://www.cyclechat.net/threads/losing-faith-in-tredz-swansea.164127/#post-3259143

Unless an end of season model, specialized tend to be more costly spec wise than many other brands

You could post links to the two specs and let folks review and comment.