Advice on bearing condition please.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Salty seadog

Space Cadet...(3rd Class...)
I've never worked on bearings before so improving my knowledge by servicing the cup and cone front hub on the mtb. It had a bit of a grumble going on so thought I'd have a look.

The balls look fine to me but the cones look pitted, one more than the other.
The races in the hub look ok to my untrained eye.

Any comments from these not great pics welcomed.

DSC_0644.JPG

DSC_0645.JPG

DSC_0644.JPG

DSC_0643.JPG

DSC_0642.JPG

DSC_0641.JPG

DSC_0640.JPG

DSC_0638.JPG

DSC_0637.JPG

DSC_0635.JPG

Last edited:

overmind

My other bike is a Pinarello
The drive side cone nuts look a bit pitted but the bb's look ok. Hubs look ok to me. I once had a set which collapsed.

Agreed the drive side cone looks knackered. Pick up a new one at the lbs along with new balls.
I fear it won't be quite that simple. There are an incredible, nay senseless, number of different cones. Lasf time I had to replace some it was simpler to buy a new hub and swap fhe internals over.

Reactions: C R

iluvmybike

Über Member
Take one of the cones along to your LBS - they will likely have a boxful and you'll get one to fit

SJSC have a large range of cones of varying dimensions. @Salty seadog what make is the hub?
Yes they do tim but that's the problem - which one?
Not criticising sjsc but the prices of individual cones can seem kind of disproportionate. God knows why shimano needs so many different ones.