After 50 years, it happened!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mr_hippo

Living Legend & Old Fart
I was undecided where to put this so feel free to move it!
I've been cycling for almost 50 years and today, it happened - my back wheel was clipped by a bus! Slight graze to right elbow and knee, bruising to left flank and KO'd for a few minutes! Yes, I have been to hospital and everything is alright.
The bike did not do as well as I! I am now sporting a new type of wheel - 10 spokes in one quadrant! Both dropouts bent, rear mech in pieces and drive side chainstay bent.
Other damage includes, smashed helmet (only 4 days old!) Old Fart jersey with a hole on on pocket (First time on!) and ATC camera mount. Police and insurance reports completed and I'm claiming a new bike as the bike is only one month old - can you safely re-bend aluminium? Have to visit the insurance company on Friday. The bus driver has admitted responsibilty.
Don't worry about me, I'll be cycling in a few days!

Zoiders

I am afraid my dear chap that the a bent ally frame is a DNR

bonj2

Glad he admitted responsibity - you're lucky, with a lot of british bus companies it's 'company policy' not to do so. It's far far too often really that people are getting barged off the road and injured at the hands of these menaces to society.

MERV

Tynan said:
bit close to that car's blind spot? certainly too
close

Who me? No chance I was right in his mirror.(I wasn't originally if you noticed till he caught cyclist up and did his left turn)

Another thing was that the cyclist in front slowed him down and also he didn't bother signalling till too late which I find happens a lot of the time.I also caught him up as he slowed down for blind corner turn.Watch the video again.It's obvious he saw me and also I half expected the left turn so it probably looks more dramatic than it was.

Also you bring this up straight after my last comment.Nice judgement of my road behavior.