Alloy stems and carbon steerers

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Peter Salt

Bittersweet
I have some bad experiences with using alloy stems on carbon steerers. Specifically, stems that provide relatively low internal surface area - due to various cut-outs - leaving nasty marks on the steerer, despite applying the right bolt torque.

I'm doing a new bike build and once again came across an alloy stem that I really like, that seemingly hasn't been designed with carbon steerers in mind (cut-outs wherever possible). Said stem is available in 1-1/8 as well as 1-1/4 inch versions (steerer OD). The steerer on the bike is 1-1/8 OD.

Would it make more sense to get a 1-1/4 version stem, alloy 1-1/4 to 1-1/8 shim, and put that on the carbon steerer? Instead of fitting the 1-1/8?

Never used a shim like that before, any bad experiences out there?

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
Assuming you are using a bung in the steerer (Preferably a long one) the marks are no problem as the tube is supported by the said bung and cannot be crushed or split. The marks are probably just cosmetic anyway, but if you want to avoid them just soften the edges of the stem with emery or a file.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Defintely use a bung, and use a small spacer on top of the stem, so the stem is clamping the whole supported part of the steerer (same goes for any material IMHO).

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
I wouldn't use a shim on anything critical like steering. Just introducing something else for no reason.

OP's issue is they want a stem with the cut out - yes it will mark the steerer more, that's the issue with the cut out, but hey ho !

wafter

I like steel bikes and I cannot lie..