Am I mad to even think about it?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I'm having a bit of a battle with my wife.

I used to play a lot of team badminton for 25 years until I was 45, when I gave it up, partly because of injuries and partly because I was more into squash. I haven't played for more than 25 years but last week I was in our local sports centre looking for Pilates classes when I wandered through the main hall and saw three courts being used by a lot of 50+ players, several of whom I recognised as opponents from my team days. I got talking to them and they were trying to talk me into playing again. They play three mornings a week and I said I'd give it a try after Christmas is out of the way.

My wife is totally against it and thinks I'm mad to risk it at my age with my history of tendon and ligament injuries and the metal plate in my neck, and that I have forgotten the problems that caused me to give it up. I started playing table tennis again two years ago after a forty plus year gap and that has made me think I could also play badminton. I cycle, and love it, and go to the gym but still miss the one-to-one competitive element.

Should I try it and risk injury (I know that if I start again I will be too competitive to take it easy), or just accept I am going through a late-life crisis, put the past behind me, and just stay fit with cycling/gym?

slowmotion

Quite dreadful
Play.

Levo-Lon

Guru
I'd say play but do a few months Pilates first,and maybe get a check up.
I used to love squash,id probably do myself in if i played tomorrow,and im only 53.

You know its going to be tough!!

gavroche

Getting old but not past it