Any advice for a newbie cyclist taking on a duatholon

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

This Time Next Year

(Apologies if this is in the wrong forum.)
I've entered a duathlon the other day which is now less than two weeks away.

It's only a very short one (5k run / 15k cycle / 5k run), and even though my newly acquired dadbod has meant my fitness isn't where it once was, I'm an experienced runner (7 marathons under my belt) so confident with the run sections, but an absolute novice cyclist.

I have a road bike (Boardman Team Carbon) which I bought a couple of summers ago on the C2W scheme, but have almost certainly done less than 50 miles on it. - (Deciding to sell the house the week I bought it meant any initial enthusiasm I had didn't get a chance to bloom, and fatherhood since has left me without the time, or energy, to cycle as well as run).

I'm aware of the second run jelly legs, having experienced them myself during a 3k/8k/3k mini brick session, but I'm less aware of how to combat them. I have flat 'standard' pedals fitted and was planning on wearing some harder soled semi off road running shoes throughout.

I'm aware the main advice is just turn up and enjoy it and finish (which will of course be my primary aim, but if there's any little bits of advice that will make everything go smoother I'd love to hear it.

Questions I have thought of so far...
What should I wear?
How should I set up the bike? (I assume remove mud guards, saddle bag etc?)
What maintenance should I do given it's been sat in the garage relatively unused?
What tips do you have?
Should I invest in clip-less pedals?
-Will they really make any difference?

Sharky

Guru