Any experts on car tyres here?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

EltonFrog

Legendary Member
My car/tyres are fairly new, but I've twatted one tyre and it needs replacing. Searching the many tyre websites prices vary quite a bit between brands. Is best to match the brand or does it not make a ha'pennys worth of difference?

Ta muchly.

Brandane

Legendary Member
Personally, I like to match tyres; but I don't suppose it makes much difference. Obviously don't mix cross ply and radials.
My source of tyres recently has been blackcircles. Order the tyre and specify which garage you want to fit it, and when you want it done. Easy.

FWIW, I always stick with the better known brands. Currently have Good Year tyres all round. Maybe it's down to having been a motorcyclist before I was a driver, but I like to have some confidence in those 4 (or 2 as the case may be) bits of rubber that are the only contact between vehicle and road!

Last edited:

swee'pea99

Legendary Member
Depends on what you drive & how. If you take it to the limit, I guess maybe it matters. If you pootle around like me, it really doesn't. I always use this lot - checkout the reviews and get the cheapest that looks trustworthy. So far so good...

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
I match all 4 always have done after a nasty spin with some crap tyres on the rear (when I was in my 20s)

Certainly as a minimum same tyres on each axel.

biggs682

Touch it up and ride it
@CarlP things to think are how many mile do you cover ?

what kind of driving ie local pottering high speed or long motorway runs ?

i have used economy brands for years never had an issue but then only cover 7-8 k a year mostly local

sure you might get more miles and performance and less road noise from a top quality brand but will you notice it ?

just make sure same size and speed rating on each axle

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!