Any ideas ???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fiona N

Veteran
I don't usually have much problem tracking down 'noises' on the bike but this one has me perplexed.
The story so far:
I just started riding upright again this Spring after a long period of back injury (and recumbent riding) and got an old steel-framed Chas Roberts out of the loft where it had been lashed to the turbo for the last four years. Lovely to be riding a nippy roadster after only a mtb on the road. But alarming cracks on the under side of the down tube just behind the headtube suggested that all was not well so I bought a Al+carbon seat stays frame & forks from Ribble thinking to swop the parts over and make a winter hack bike.
This involved a bit more than just swopping parts as the new frame had a hidden Ahead headset and threadless fork so needed a new stem. Also the frame tubes are bigger so I also needed a new band-on front derailleur (Tiagra) and a new seat post (carbon). The rest of the gear is basically Shimano 105 with a triple chainset.
From the first rides, there was a lot of noise which sounded like the chain rubbing on the front derailleur. So I fiddled and fettled but couldn't get rid of the noise. Plus it seemed like the chain was entirely clear of the derailleur cage when the noise was heard. Then I realised that the noise didn't occur if I pedalled gently - really smooth spinning along and all's quiet. So then I thought, it's the stem/bars when I pull/push on them when pedalling harder - but no, I can ride hands-free and the noise is still there. Likewise, it occurs when I'm out of the saddle so seat-post seems not to be involved.