Any mavic ksyrium riders here?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cabbieman

I've recently purchased a pair of these that came with the standard 25's mavic tyres. I'm used to 28's on my last bike so I thought I'd fit 28's onto the mavics.
They were very difficult to get on but I'm no expert so no alarm bells ringing.
Went out yesterday and after only 10 miles, I noticed the tyre coming off next to the valve. Stopped and reseated the tyre after thinking I hadn't fitted it right and carried on with my ride.
25 miles later and all was good.
Went out today and after about 25 miles I suddenly felt the front tyre rubbing. Stopped to reseat it again and suddenly the innertube just burst. Changed the tube and reseated the tyre and came home.
After a look on tinternet it seems these wheels are capable of taking 28's but I'm not so sure.
Anybody have any views on this?
Is it me? I don't think so but may be wrong.

BorderReiver

Veteran
Some tyres are made to closer tolerances than others. Maybe you have a defective tyre? I've run my Krysium SLs with 25mm and can't see why 28mm shouldn't fit.

sight-pin

Veteran
With some tubes the reinforced part around the valve prevents the tyre from seating correctly if the tube is not fully inserted into the tyre, or with the threaded valve type, nutting the the tube before it's inflated can have that effect. You probably already know that though.

pawl

Legendary Member
I have these wheels.After all the hype about wider tyres I decided to give them a try 25being the widest due to frame clearance Big mistake.Fitted a pair of Vittoria pros.Most unconfortable tyres I have ever ridden on. The rear als split at the rim.
Gone back to my ever faithful Michelin pro endurance.

OP
OP
cabbieman

cabbieman