Any skiers out there?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

porteous

Veteran
Do you have a local dry ski slope? My family learned there (I was a complete novice of 60!). Did an 8 hour course spread over a month, then one morning with a coach when we arrived at Les Arcs - worked a treat and FAR cheaper than ski school out there. Keep on blue runs for a while then upgrade with an instructor, or just ignore the hard stuff and enjoy!.

As others have said, Easter best for kids, not too cold. We baught an ex GPO post bus for £2000 (LDV. 6 seats, van back end,over 30mpg on a run) did the whole one week trip plus travelling time, including ski passes, for under £250 a head and sold the post bus for £2300 when we got back.

Now do the dry ski slope every 2-3 months to avoid skill fade and go for a week or two every year either to France or Italy.

User482 said:
This is a thread about skiing, not the items in your dungeon. :thumbsup:

:smile:

An anecdote about cable bindings would have been a sure giveaway. :sad:

BigSteev

User482 said:
Blimey, I'm in agreement with linf. :thumbsup:

I've tried snowboarding. It's like skiing except with more pain and less fun.

Lies! It's easier to learn - there's only one type of turn, none of that snowplough, stem turn, parallel progression and there's none of that individual, rotational stress on the knees either. Fall over and everything stays attached meaning you can get straight up without having to climb back up the mountain to retrieve your other ski/a pole etc.

Hamish

Veteran
I'll wade in here with my first ever post <trembles with excitement>

Yes, you can do it cheaper, but skiing is always going to be expensive.
Jan is cheapest - but Mid March or even mid-late April can get much nicer weather, and gives time to give decent base for the snow.

French mega-resorts are expensive (especially food/drink on mountains) and as novices you don't need them so avoid.