Any skiers out there?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

andyfromotley

Thinking about a ski holiday in Jan. Me, Mrs AFO, kids 7 and 3. All complete novices. Cheapest packages seem to come out at about 3 grand for everything, food lessons, kit, transfers etc and a bit of child care if we wnated it.

Can i do it cheaper myself? i can get flights to geneva for about £40 each if we fly on a thurs? Is it poss to book it all myself? Can you get accom thurs to thurs, where would i go? Transfers? Is it all too much hassle?

Any advice gratefully received

Andy

U

User482

Skiing's expensive. The lift passes will make your eyes water, as will the price of food and beer in the resort. You can save a few quid by arranging the accommodation direct, and drive down to the Alps.

spire

To the point
If that price includes lift passes and ski hire, you've got a bargain.

But unless the £ improves against the €, stand by for eye-watering extras when you're there: beer is £8 pint on the mountain.

BigSteev

First thing I'd suggest is that as complete novices you don't go to one of the huge resorts (Val D'Isere, Meribel etc) as you'll be paying for a lift pass that will give you access to a huge area but you'll only see a tiny fraction of it.
Places like Bulgaria, Andorra etc will be much cheaper and give you adequate terrain for your abilities, or if you're set on France, maybe a smaller resort like Valmeinier.

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
Some of the smaller Austrian resorts might be suitable. Perhaps have a google at what is available in St Johann im Pongau.

You'd probably get a more comprehensive response if you get it moved over to the cafe.

Incidentally, one option which might work out cheaper and still be feasible could be to stay on the German side of L Konstanz (where there is no skiing) and drive into either the Austrian Tyrol or Switzerland every day. Accommodation would be a lot cheaper that way.