Approach to fitness...

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hatevessel

Regular
Hi all,

Not wanting to repeat my introduction post in the welcome forum, so I'll say it in simple terms: my fitness is currently rock bottom. I can't imagine another human being, no matter what size, being less able to endure prolonged physical effort than I.

Therefore, as I'm just starting out cycling, what do you think would be the best approach? I've read cycling fitness plans etc but even beginner ones seem slightly out of my scope at the moment. I've read other people essentially saying: just get out there and cycle, pick a route and attack it every day and you'll see the gains.

I want to achieve a balance between doing worthwhile, achievable exercise and not biting off more than I can chew and leading me down the "I'm not cut out for this" sort of thinking that has plagued most of my previous efforts. I also want it to be fun and challenging, without being too forensic.

For those who have come from a low levels of fitness, what worked for you? Are there any 'go to' guides to get me up and runn[cycl]ing?

Obviously diet plays a big factor, and I've got my head screwed on in that regard, despite the predicament I currently find myself in! My previous (initially) successful efforts to drop weight have come at the expense of extremely lengthy hikes/rambles/walks. However, this just built up my ability to walk for long distances, rather than attain any real level of fitness.

Cheers for any thoughts you may have

ScotiaLass

Guru
When I started cycling I was very overweight.
I could only manage a few miles and that wiped me out for days afterwards.
I took the advice from members on the forum, and just did what I could, when I could. I think having a 'regime' would have put me off getting on the bike to be honest!
I did what I enjoyed, at my own pace....along the towpaths, through the trails in my local woods.