Asthma

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Timotheog

Regular
Hi all, just wondering if any of you have asthma and enjoy cycling? Does it make your asthma worse? Have you found cycling helps overall?

I'm just getting into road cycling and have been asthmatic since a boy, generally I find myself able to cope more on the bike as apposed to running, etc.

Hi

I'm a severe asthmatic - 8 or 9 sets of meds to control my asthma plus a nebuliser, plus various other medical complications as a result of my asthma meds or damage to my lungs & throat from my asthma etc. I don't let it stop me and even cycle the 50 mile round trip to see my severe asthma consultant! He thinks this is great btw. Staying fit helps to keep my asthma under control and allows me to do more, but you have to get fit first which is always the difficult part. Just take it easy and don't worry too much about speed and be sensible about it and you will be fine. Just learn to listen to what your body is telling you.

How bad is your asthma if you don' mind me asking?

SNSSO

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
A lifelong asthmatic here who has been classed as severe in the past. Fortunately, in my case cycling has never induced an attack (unlike running) and as the rides have got more adventurous and my fitness has improved so has the asthma.

Last year my reliever inhaler time-expired before running out of doses for the first time ever and I couldn't honestly tell you when I last had to take a puff from from the current one (think it was probably about 4 months ago.)

I realise that everyone is different but for me the cycling really has made a massive difference.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Can I ask you asthmatics a question about asthma?