Avanti Circa - is this the forks about to give way?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
Cleaning my Avanti Circa commuter bike this morning I noticed a couple of paint chips plus some bubbling around the fork area. It's a carbon fork with alloy steerer.

Is this a warning that the forks are on their way out?

PXL_20231009_104050432.jpg

PXL_20231009_104057973.jpg

PXL_20231009_104108217.jpg

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
I'd not be happy with that - it's a alloy steerer and fork crown with bonded carbon forks. Given the galvanic corrosion around the join/bond and given the visible crack in the paint at said join, I'd retire them and get some generic carbon forks from SJS.

PS tuck the straddle wire into the canti brake - you scruff !

PPS which guards are they - clip on ? (similar might fit my CX bike)

Once a Wheeler

…always a wheeler
I'm no expert on this but by analogy with other all-weather situations, especially on boats, it looks very dodgy. Most worrying to me are those micro-cracks below the level of the blistering. Definitely get a professional opinion.

OP
OP
DCLane

DCLane

Thanks @fossyant , @Once a Wheeler , @FishFright , @biggs682 & @Venod - noted and you've confirmed my concerns. It's my commuter bike and maybe two winters of commuting haven't treated it well. The bubbling has been growing for a while but today's the first time I've seen paint cracked and chipped off.

I'll go fork and/or frame hunting. It's used over the winter in all weathers so two years tends to be about right ime.

PS tuck the straddle wire into the canti brake - you scruff !

PPS which guards are they - clip on ? (similar might fit my CX bike)

I live in Yorkshire and, particularly as I frequent Sid's Cafe in Holmfirth a lot, like to reflect Compo's scruffy personality. We do 'scruffy' well in Yorkshire. When we want to.