Bad knees & SPD's

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BigCol

Hello

I have been cycling now for a couple of years and absolutely love it. While I have been mostly doing shorter off-road XC riding, I have done a couple of road based longer rides for charity.

On my last ride (Sunderland to Edinburgh - Coast & Castles), I started getting a pain in my left knee about half way through. Our support driver kindly went and got me a tubular knee support bandage which helped a little but the pain started in my right knee after about another 40 miles. The last 60 miles of the ride was absolute agony and if it wasn't for charity, I think I would have bailed as every pedal rotation was extremely painful.

I am riding a full-sus mountain bike with SPD's and I have read that if SPD are incorrectly set up, it can cause bad knees.

So......my question is, how do you adjust SPD's to relieve knee strain? The only way I can see that they are adjustable is by moving the cleats closer to the toe but would this make a difference? I am quite tall (just over 6'3") on a Large size bike with the seat set very high up so that I am getting a long leg stretch. I have previously put any knee quibbles down to being overweight but while I am still not at an ideal weight, I have gone from 22.5 stone to just under 17 so I am hoping that it isn't weight related.

I have been considering getting a road bike so that I am not using my MTB for long rides, triathlons, etc but I don't want to shell out for a new bike if anything over 50 miles is going to cause problems with my knees.

Thanks for your help with this - it's much appreciated.

Col.

Blue

Legendary Member
Cycling is non weight bearing so that probably isn't the issue.