Balance bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bazzer

Setting the controls for the heart of the sun.
Mrs B wants to buy our grand daughter a balance bike for Christmas, (no complaints from me), but I have no experience of them except seeing kids on them on Boxing Day.
Frame styles for the earliest year's riders generally seem to be a banana shape, either upward sloping or downward sloping. My gut feeling would be that downward sloping would feel more stable for a first bike with it having a lower centre of gravity. But any feedback about this would be appreciated.
Also does a brake make much difference to the rider's shoe wear, or do the toes and soles of shoes still get hammered for braking?

Domus

Guru
We bought our granddaughter a Frog Tadpole Sky balance bike, she did not take to it at all. However her younger brother loved it, he gained so much confidence he soon progressed to a pedal bike at 4 years old. The Tadpole has a rear brake and he got to grips with the concept very quickly, he was soon hurtling down slopes and skidding to a halt giggling like a loony. Our third grandchild was born this very day and will one day learn on it, it still looks like new.👍

Nebulous

Guru
Both my grandchildren started on the same specialized balance bike.
https://www.evanscycles.com/specialized-hotwalk-2020-balance-bike-EV359500
They both started roughly around the age they could walk, and both progressed to a pedal bike before they were 3. It was very difficult to get a pump on to the tyres of their one, but I see they have now changed to 'airless' tyres. I don't think brakes would have been used, but it was definitely hard on shoes.

OP
OP
Bazzer

Bazzer