Battery

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ness55

Hi I’m new to my electric bike and this forum, so sorry if this is a repeat of previous threads. I have just brought a Carrara subway e bike from Halfords. I love it so far, but seem to only manage to get 20 miles out of a fully charged battery. Today I’ve been out and kept it in tour mode till the last mile than popped it into sport to go up a long hill. I weigh approx 13st and the ride was a mix of flat, downhill and gradual uphills. For the last 1/2 mile the bike went into eco mode.
I expected the battery to last further? Do I need to ask Halfords for a new battery or am I expecting too much?
Any advice welcome, thank you

It does vary a lot based on how much effort you put in yourself.

SOme cheaper ebikes (like the subway - I know it is >£1000 but.....) can tend to see that the pedals are moving and take that as enough evidence to deliver power. More expensive ebikes have better systems and look at the torque (i.e. how much pressure you put on the pedals) and use that to add somem# power - so if you press less hard the motor helps you less. The cheaper ones are not so sensitive so if you spin the pedals at a certain speed then you get full power without any real effort
On one of those bikes it can be quite difficult to stop the bike delivering power when you don't need it!!
I tend to find that this can sometimes only be stopped by riding close to - and edgeing over at times - the motor cutoff speed. This should be 15.5 mph but tends to vary a bit - having a speedometer can help here.

Also - and more importantly - if the bike has been in storage for some time before you took delivery then the battery may not be in great shape. The batteries do not like being left unused to long periods of time - so there may be a problem.